top of page


Following the demise of emo band Mineral in 1997, singer/guitarist Chris Simpson (Mineral/ Zookeeper/ Mountain Time) and bassist Jeremy Gomez reunited to form The Gloria Record. Taking an acoustic and more organic approach than their previous work, The Gloria Record (with the addition of guitarist Brian Hubbard, drummer Matt Hammon, later replaced by Brian Malone and Ben Houtman on the keys, organs and synthesisers) were unarguably the logical progression from Mineral’s emo throes - quieter, delicate and fervently impassioned.


Heralded as a “band with big visions and bombastic sounds”, the quintet fostered their admiration for artists with similar arena sized visions (Radiohead, REM, U2) to produce a sound that was reminiscent of their British contemporaries and American indies. In 1998 the band released their self-titled EP, followed by the intricate offering of 2000’s A Lull In Traffic and 2002’s full length effort Start Here, before disbanding after extensive US tours in 2004.



  • 1.Ozona & Sonora [1:55]
  • 2.Grace, the Snow Is Here [4:32]
  • 3.Torch Yourself [8:02]
  • 4.Ode to New Grass [6:11]
  • 5.Grain Towers & Telephone Poles [6:12]
  • 6.Sonora & Ozona [4:56]


Tax included.

Shipping information can be found here. 

The Gloria Record - The Gloria Record

Only 1 left in stock
  • Release Date


  • Record Label

    Big Scary Monsters


Product Page: Stores_Product_Widget
bottom of page